Apple Does It Again: iPhone 6 release + how to download iOS 8 without deleting everything

After months of anticipation, Apple finally released not one but two new phones; the iPhone 6 (4.7 inches) and the iPhone 6 plus (5.5 inches).

 

photo from firstpost.com

photo from firstpost.com

Of course there has been much speculation in the months leading up to the release on how the phone will look, what features it will have, and if any other devices would be revealed. Now that the cat is finally out of the bag, we can discuss what features actually are on iOS 8, and how to download it without deleting everything on your device.

Touch ID

One of the cool new features coming to the iPhone is the Touch ID feature. It allows you to use your fingerprint to unlock your phone. All you have to do is place your finger on the home button, and it will scan it.

Apple Pay

Apple Pay is one of the features that uses Touch ID. When you are in physical stores (that use Apple Pay) you can place your finger on the home button when you are near the register. I’m wondering how that will work exactly because what if you have Apple Pay, but for a specific transaction you want to use cash, and forget to turn off Touch ID. Will it still charge your card? Hopefully, Apple provides answers to that.

And then for online stores, you can choose the Apple Pay option, and then use TouchID to finish your transaction.

TouchID reminds me of Amazon 1click check out, which I do not like because I have accidentally bought a lot of things from Amazon that I did not mean to lol.

iOS 8

I don’t have an iPhone, but I downloaded iOS on my iPad, and honestly, it wasn’t the huge update I was expecting. I really wanted multitasking to be added since I can do that on my Note 2, but no such luck. Here are the 2 things I noticed though:

-video and audio added to iMessage

– if you have more than one Apple device you can start something on one and finish on the other

 

What do you think of the iPhone 6 and iOS 8?

 

One thought on “Apple Does It Again: iPhone 6 release + how to download iOS 8 without deleting everything

  1. Pingback: Google Releases Android Lollipop | I am Tia

Share your thoughts!

